What to do with leftover Tabouli? Stuffed Tomatoes!

IMG_2692

They are almost too pretty to eat!

After making a lot of tabouli yesterday, and indulging in a lovely pita, I decided to scour the internet for more ways to use this delightful salad. Pinterest was able to supply me with a few ideas. Since I have stuffed peppers before, and stuffed portebello mushrooms didn’t work out as well as I had hoped, I decided to try to stuff tomatoes. After all, I had a lot of tabouli.

IMG_2686

This recipe comes from fellow wordpress user A Rented Kitchen and was surprisingly simple to make!

Ingredients

Tabouli
Tomatoes
Bread Crumbs

Since I am always up for a challenge (and simultaneously lack the ability to make anything easy) I decided that I would make my own breadcrumbs. They turned out great! I separated a pita, laid it on a tinfoil covered baking sheet and baked at 350 until crispy. Then I threw it into my ninja blender, crushed to a powder, added italian seasoning and shook! The results were way better than store bought!!

As for the stuffed tomatoes.

First, slice off the top of the tomato, and then scoop out the inside. The end result should resemble this

IMG_2688

Be careful to not puncture the tomato!

Next, add tabouli (almost to the top!), cover in bread crumbs and place into a greased glass baking dish. Bake for 20 minutes at 350, remove and enjoy! The original recipe calls for parmesan cheese on top…but that is totally up to you!

I would definitely make this again…easy, delicious, and would make a great appetizer!

One thought on “What to do with leftover Tabouli? Stuffed Tomatoes!

  1. Pingback: Vegan Review: Amy’s Rice Macaroni and Cheese…gluten free, dairy free, soy free | Culinary Arts and Crafts with Jenni and Kristina

Leave a Reply

