Pesto and “Cream Cheese” Based Green Pizza

photo
Pizza seems to be the perfect way to use up leftover veggies in the fridge. Today, my goal was to use up my soon to be expired daiya cheese. I was craving a white pizza, but not in the mood to create tofu ricotta, I researched how to incorporate vegan cream cheese into a decent pizza.

Total ingredients (broken down by step as you read!)

.25 oz active yeast
1 cup of warm water
2 tbs olive oil
2 1/2 cups of flour
1 tsp of sugar
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup of fresh basil leaves
1/2 cup of olive oil
1/4 cup of walnuts
4 garlic cloves
1-2 tbs water
5 tsp cream cheese
enough cheese to cover the pizza
garlic salt
mushrooms
spinach
tomatoes


pizza dough

I also realized that I had a good amount of active yeast that was sitting dormant in my fridge, so this adventure included making my own pizza dough! One of the main things that prevents me from consistently making my own dough for bread or pizza is the time constraint. I want pizza soon to now, and a two hour dough recipe is beyond the amount of time I wish to spend! Fortunately, there was a quick and easy recipe on All Recipes.com Quick and Easy Pizza It took about 15 minutes to make…that is perfect!

Pizza Dough

.25 oz active yeast (or one packet, or 1 1/2 tsp of active yeast from a jar)
1 cup of warm water
2 tbs olive oil
2 1/2 cups of flour
1 tsp of sugar
1 tsp salt (I used seasoned salt)

First mix the yeast, sugar, and warm water in a bowl, stir and wait for 10 minutes. Then add in olive oil, flour, and salt. Mix (it will get very thick very quickly!) and let sit for 5 minutes, or however long you need until you have everything else ready.

When that time comes…place a lot of flour on the dough, this is important, otherwise it sticks on the rolling pin! Also, spray the pizza pan with PAM, that helps! Spread/roll out the dough until it is an acceptable size (I prefer thicker crusts). Fun fact: Using a rolling pin is significantly better than using a wine bottle. Thanks mom and dad for the christmas present!


Pesto and Cream Cheese

Now for the pesto topping, by now I feel like I am a pesto expert. This one is a variation of the Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Pesto Pasta from a few days ago, minus the sun-dried tomatoes.

Ingredients:

1/3 cup of fresh basil leaves
1/2 cup of olive oil
1/4 cup of walnuts
4 garlic cloves
1-2 tbs water
5 tsp cream cheese (vegan! I use)

Place all of the ingredients (Except the cream cheese!) in the blender…and blend. I had to add water until the consistency was perfect. Transfer the mixture to a bowl, and mix together with the cream cheese, until smooth.


Bringing it all together

Once the pizza is rolled out, pour and spread the pesto sauce on top.

Now for the fun part! I had mentioned that I needed to get rid of my Daiya cheese, so that was going to be one of my main ingredients. I also put my favorite trio of veggies, mushrooms, tomatoes, and spinach, on the pizza. I also drizzled olive oil on top, added fresh parsley, and some garlic powder.

Bake in the oven at 450 F for about 15 minutes, checking at 10, and continuing until the crust is a lovely shade of golden brown.

This pizza is healthy, vegan, and either serves a lot of people, or makes several lunches!

2 thoughts on “Pesto and “Cream Cheese” Based Green Pizza

  1. Pingback: Honey Mango Balsamic Pizza? A tale of two pizzas… | Culinary Arts and Crafts with Jenni and Kristina

  2. Pingback: Roasted Garlic, Kale, and Baby Bella Pizza | Culinary Arts and Crafts with Jenni and Kristina

Leave a Reply

